MAC Surf Baby–Should You Ride This Wave?

20 May

Happy Friday ladies! I am going to get to the quick on this one and just show swatches and comparison swatches for the items I ordered. Hopefully this will help you decide if Surf Baby is something you want to indulge in next week. If you would like to see these items compared to something else, let me know and I can do a twitpic, providing of course I have the item you want to see it up against. Enjoy! Note: All swatches were taken in natural daylight/sunshine

L-R: Sonia Kashuk Coralina, MAC Hibiscus, MAC Vegas Volt, MAC Full Speed

L-R: VS E/S Quad Teal, UD Kush, UD Haight, MAC Surf USA, MAC Steamy, MAC Aquadisiac, MAC Newly Minted, UD Flipside

L-R: MAC Copperplate, MAC Swell Baby, MAC Groundcover, MAC Silverthorn

L-R: My Paradise w/Gold, My Paradise w/o Gold, MAC Bite of An Apple w/NARS Taj Mahal, Illamasqua Excite, Sleek Pan Tao

L-R: My Paradise W/Gold, My Paradise w/o Gold, Stila Make Me Blush, Tarte Tipsy, Korres #44 orange

Wearing Surf Baby! Hibiscus lipstick, My Paradise and Swell Baby

Overall: Swell Baby and Surf USA I don’t have any dupes for. Newly Minted is close, but is matte. The Victoria’s Secret palette was LE last summer so I don’t think it’s available anymore, and that shadow leans more green. Hibiscus is an orangey-red coral while Vegas Volt is more a true bright coral. My Paradise is darker than Tipsy, but similar in tone to Korres. The gold overlay is quite thick. I still find the Korres blush to be better in terms of formula to My Paradise, but My Paradise has a different color to is when applied. It leans more orange-red on me.

I hope this helps you decide what to get. Again, if you have questions or want to see some other swatches I’d be happy to do so! 🙂 I really like what I purchased and feel like everything is very pretty and mostly unique. The most closely dupeable item I bought is probably Hibiscus., but I don’t regret getting it because I actually really like the summery design of the lipstick tube. I can see myself enjoying pulling that tube out of purse all summer!

Surf Baby Haul and Packaging

Gratuitous My Paradise Photo 😉

21 Responses to “MAC Surf Baby–Should You Ride This Wave?”

  1. Ebru May 20, 2011 at 5:49 PM #

    Amazing swatches and comparisons Danielle! 🙂 Newly Minted looks like a gorgeous shade, I need to do an inventory check to see if I have a dupe for it! Ahhh My Paradise is just beautiful! I can’t wait to get it!

    • bloominbeauty May 20, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

      Thanks! I really do like Newly Minted, I believe it is a PRO shade right now. It goes great with Silverthorn if you’ve got that shade. Silverthorn was LE from a ways back. But a nice silvery grey would do. My Paradise is just so pretty to look at!

  2. Kayla May 20, 2011 at 5:50 PM #

    Love Hibiscus and My Paradise on you! Thanks for the swatches! I’m on the fence about Hibiscus now because it’s so close to Vegas Volt. But I did finally decide to bite the bullet and buy My Paradise. It’s such a pretty color and I like that you can use it with or without the gold so it’s fairly versatile. Plus, I don’t own anything even remotely like it. I’m definitely getting Surf USA, but I’m going to skip Swell Baby because I have a ton of grays already. =)

    • bloominbeauty May 20, 2011 at 10:16 PM #

      Thanks Kayla! It is pretty similar to Vegas Volt, in person Vegas Volt is more of a true coral, where again, Hibiscus (very much like My Paradise) has a red-orange pull. Both are lovely shades, but unless you like the pull of Hibiscus, Vegas Volt is just as pretty. I like the tube it comes in! 🙂 And Surf USA is definitely pretty. Similar to Newly Minted, but Newly Minted is matte. I have an obsession with grey shadows right now. It’s a phase I am going through. 🙂

  3. 25FLONDON May 20, 2011 at 8:21 PM #

    Great comparisons! I ended up getting Hibiscus & My Paradise. I’m happy that My Paradise looks somewhat similar to Tipsy, seeing as that’s difficult for me to get!

    • bloominbeauty May 20, 2011 at 10:14 PM #

      It is kind of similar. Definitely not dupes because of the orange-red pull of My Paradise–at least on me. Tipsy definitely pulls full on coral. The Tarte formula is second to none though, so I hope you can get your hands on some soon! 😉

  4. Jessica May 20, 2011 at 10:17 PM #

    LOVE the title. The comparison swatches are VERY helpful. Hibiscus wasn’t on my radar at all … until now!

    ♥ Jessica

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:32 PM #

      Thanks Jessica! It sort of came to me, I was like I wanted to say something about should you buy Surf Baby items…and then boom! It hit me …don’t you love when that happens, like you Hail Aurora post, sometimes the words just click. I think Hibiscus is a fund shade. It’s reddish without being overly red. I am not a big red lip wearer so this is a nice way to incorporate some red without going to a full on Russian Red kind of lip 🙂

  5. Lady May 20, 2011 at 10:42 PM #

    Paradis is so pretty! the actual flower pattern but i dont think i like the overall packaging

    Your swatches are amazing as always and an amazing resource

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:29 PM #

      Thanks Julie! I wasn’t fond of the packaging either, but the lipstick tube is so cute for summer!

  6. SiSi Sparkles May 20, 2011 at 10:46 PM #

    ooo thanks for the swatches hun! the packaging looks so adorable ^_^

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:29 PM #

      You’re welcome! I wasn’t fond of the packaging at first, but it kind of grows on you. I really like the lipstick tube the most!

  7. tkj81 May 21, 2011 at 4:12 AM #

    Love that color on your lips, suits you nicely!

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

      Thank you Tara! I am really liking this shade so far.

  8. Tiffany May 21, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

    You always have the best swatches! Hibiscus looks so pretty on you – I didn’t realize how close it was to Vegas Volt, though. I love the color of Vegas Volt but I hardly ever wear it for some reason 😦

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:27 PM #

      Thanks Tiffany! Hibiscus is lovely, but slightly more red than Vegas Volt. Aww, you need to start busting that out now that it’s summertime!

  9. Jen W May 22, 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    Can I just say that those swatches are very very good. Imma comin here for swatches from now on! 🙂

    Loving the Surf Baby FOTD, the neutral eye and Hibiscus lippy are gorgeous

    • bloominbeauty May 22, 2011 at 9:26 PM #

      Thank you Jen! I try to get it as accurate as possible! 🙂

  10. nisachan May 23, 2011 at 12:02 AM #

    great review, dear 😉

  11. fashiometics May 23, 2011 at 5:51 PM #

    Thanks for the swatches Danielle!

    I was thinking of getting My Paradise, but it is somewhat similar to Bite of an Apple, which I have and LOVE! 🙂

    But I think I’m gonna check out Hibiscus. I really love it on you! ♥

    Celine

    • bloominbeauty May 23, 2011 at 10:30 PM #

      Oh, thank you! Yeah, Bite of an Apple is a total win. I wasn’t going to get it when it came out but someone on twitter or a blog told me I needed it. They were SO right. I don’t have a single other color like it (except My Paradise, but it definitely isn’t a dupe at all). Hibiscus is quite pretty, you should definitely look into it!

Leave a Reply

