Spotlight on: Shiro Cosmetics!

18 May

Happy hump day! It’s mid-week again, love this time of the week. I am getting excited more and more for weekends now that the weather has improved. We will be out swimming, fishing and jet-skiing in no time! What are your favorite summer activities? I couldn’t like without the water!

I wanted to share with you some mineral eyeshadows that I purchased last year, but are still available now. On twitter someone had posted a link to a company called Shiro Cosmetics, and that she was selling mineral eyeshadows on etsy that were Zelda themed. The first thing out of my mouth was probably “OMG” but second thing was probably “I want that.” And so I ordered several of the shades that I had interest in by color and by name. You can find The Legends collection here. My order shipped fast, I think I had it about 1 week from ordering.

I love the colors, the names and the formulation. I went through a huge mineral eyeshadow phase last summer and these were probably my favorite. Anyway, I have swatched them for you today. I am not getting paid or anything for this post. I am writing about it purely with the Zelda fandom that resides within me. Gamer or not, you have to appreciate the beauty and complexity of these shades!

L-R (dry,wet): Ocarina, Kokiri Forest, Link

L-R (dry, wet): Temple of Time, Goron, Trifoce, Mastersword

L-R (dry,wet): Midna, Moajora's Mask, Zora

L-R (dry,wet): Epona, Deku, Puzzle Cube, Zelda

L-R (dry,wet): Boomerang, Ganondorf, Moosh

See? I mean check out Ganondorf? It’s a blackened purple-red that’s never quite any one color. Midna is also a gorgeous shade with light blue shimmer, which I don’t see too often. Another favorite of mine is Mastersword, which is a golden taupey silver shade (I know!). Deku is really cool because it’s a reddened brown that has, get this,  light green shimmer!!!! Zelda is the most everyday color, but it’s a pretty peachy shade in it’s own right. If you are looking for green, Link is about the greenest green shade I have ever seen, not for the faint of heart! Quite surprisingly, the shade I have used most is Goron. It blends so well into my skin tone and acts like MAC soft brown does in evening out harsh edges.

I am super happy about owning these shadows because I have loved the Zelda games since I was little. You’d had to be a player of the game to understand the names here, but any makeup lover can appreciate the amount of time and effort that must have gone into creating these shades. I really give them a big A+!

Have you tried any ‘Indie’ makeup companies? What are your favorites?

6 Responses to “Spotlight on: Shiro Cosmetics!”

  1. Lady May 18, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

    link, madina, ocarina!!! omg omg!!!! soooo beautiful! on swatch version 2 AMAZING they look like unbelievable quality!!! thanks for sharing! might have to look deeper into this!

    • bloominbeauty May 18, 2011 at 8:57 PM #

      Thanks Julie! They are great quality shadows. If you do check them out, I would love to hear what you think!

  2. Kayla May 18, 2011 at 8:41 PM #

    Oh my goodness I never would have pegged you for a Zelda fan! These colors are perfect for a Zelda collection. Makes my little nerd self want to keep kicking MAC toward a Star Wars collection. =)

    • bloominbeauty May 18, 2011 at 8:53 PM #

      Kayla-

      Oh yes, I am most definitely! I am a little gamer when I want to be 🙂 The boy is too, so it kind of rubs off on me a bit! Yes, these colors are perfect!

  3. Jessica May 18, 2011 at 9:23 PM #

    These colors are SOOOO beautiful! They are quite literally breath taking. I may have to look into Shiro a bit more!

    ♥ Jessica

    • bloominbeauty May 18, 2011 at 9:37 PM #

      Jessica-

      When I swatched Ganondorf I thought of you because it reminded me slightly of the Giorgio Armani ETK you have. They really are nice colors. Are you a fan of mineral shadows?

Leave a Reply

