New From China Glaze- Island Escape!

8 Apr

Happy Friday all! We made it through the week in one piece and now it’s time to have some fun! if you haven’t already guessed, I love nail polish. Almost as much as I love blushes! I have so many bottles, it really is quite a condition! Every time a new collection or color comes out I try to tell myself, “Oh, you already have that shade”…but every time I end up finding some nuance that makes the polish worth a pick up. It is with that same sentiment that I write this post, then. China Glaze is soon releasing a collection called Island Escape, and to be honest, when I first saw the promo pics, I thought it was pretty, but not all that unique. It turns out, that pictures (big surprise) can be deceiving. I got to try out three of the new shades ahead of the upcoming release, check out the swatches!

China Glaze Island Escape: 108 Degrees, Blue Iguana, Cha Cha Cha

China Glaze Cha Cha Cha

Cha Cha Cha is a beautiful lime that flashes gold. It reminds me a drinking a Margarita on the rocks, which incidentally is my favorite drink of choice! It should be no surprise then that I really like this color. The formula applied smoothly and there is very fine shimmer throughout. I do not have a single polish to compare this to! Very unique!

China Glaze 108 Degrees

108 Degrees is a hot pink/magenta with very, very fine shimmer throughout that adds to the glowing effect the color gives off. This again applied very smoothly. I like that the shimmers in these polishes aren’t big chunky glitter. I get annoyed removing polishes like that!

Some of you may think that 108 Degrees looks like other polishes you may own, so I did a comparison of the closest polishes that looked similar in the bottle, and here is what I came up with:

China Glaze L-R: Raspberry Fields, 108 Degrees, Ahoy!, Strawberry Fields

Raspberry Fields is quite a bit more red than 108 Degrees. Ahoy! is similar in base color, but is deeper and gold-flecked. Strawberry Fields is the least similar, being much more pink in color and also being gold-flecked. I really like all of these colors, but I would have to say 108 Degrees and Ahoy! are clear favorites over the other two. 108 Degrees definitely has more of a metallic flash that makes it brighter for summer than Ahoy!. You really can’t go wrong with any of these colors though!

China Glaze Blue Iguana

Now, the most surprising of the bunch is Blue Iguana. When I first saw this I thought it was just the typical bright blue shimmer we see frequently in summer. But in person (not so much in pictures, but believe I took several to try and capture it) it flashes with fuchsia shimmer undertones! It makes it utterly gorgeous for summer, especially for toes! I am not usually a blue polish wearer, but this I really like because of that added fuchsia dimension! If you look at the first bottle pic at the very top of this post you can find of see it!

Once again, when I first saw this I went to my stash to see what other blues I could come up with that might compare:

China Glaze T-B: Passion in the Pacific, Dorothy Who?, Blue Iguana, Watermelon Rind

Now, I love ALL of these colors! Tell me Passion in the Pacific isn’t gorgeous for summer?! If you don’t own that one, you should really check it out as the weather gets warmer. It graces my toes a lot in June and July! Dorothy Who? and Blue Iguana are similar in base color, but the formulas are very different. Dorothy Who? is a blue based jelly with chunkier glitter, while Blue Iguana has very very fine shimmer, as does Watermelon Rind. But you can see that none of these colors are dupes. Blue Iguana and Passion in the Pacific are my favs in this group.

I didn’t just look at my China Glaze polishes to compare, in case you are wondering. It just happens that I have the most of China Glaze, especially in the more flashy and unique colors.

I am definitely going to be picking up the three remaining colors when this collection finally hits stores. It should be at Sally’s in the beginning of May, and at head2toebeauty.com and transdesign.com in April. The price depends on where you get this from, at Sally’s or Ulta it will run you about $6.50 and online for about $2.99.

What colors are you excited to try from this collection?

*This post contains items provided to me by PR for consideration. I don’t do guaranteed or paid reviews of course, and my commitment is to being honest to my readers above all else. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me*

5 Responses to “New From China Glaze- Island Escape!”

  1. Kayla April 9, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

    I love 108 Degrees and the bright yellow-green color (the name escapes me at the moment). Unfortunately, the one and only time I’ve ever tried a China Glaze polish it chipped off of my artificial nails. Evidently my nails just aren’t compatible with China Glaze. It’s so sad because they always have the most interesting collections.

    Margaritas on the rocks are my favorite too! =)

    • bloominbeauty April 10, 2011 at 12:03 PM #

      Oh that’s too bad! I find that using the right base coat and buffing my nails in advance really makes any nail polish last longer. I like Sally Hansen Hard as Wraps nail gel hardener (I use on my natural nails, doesn’t hurt them) and Sally Hansen Mega Shine top coat. I can get a decent 5 days out of these polishes, and most of my others as well, from Sinful Colors all the way to NARS 😉

  2. River April 10, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    That green is amazing! I don’t wear a lot of green, but I’m tempted by this.

    • bloominbeauty April 10, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

      I know! The green is so gorgeous. I think the gold in it makes it much more wearable than other greens. Plus, as I said, it reminds me of a a margarita! 😉 win-win in my book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nail Polish Swatch-a-thon, 1.0 « - May 18, 2011

    […] stuff out here this Spring. Don’t forget to check out my other Zoya (here ) and China Glaze (here and here)  posts for other polishes they have released […]

Leave a Reply

